Our Firm

Our Values

We believe . . .

  • in listening to your story – because advising starts with understanding you and your goals.
  • in helping you increase your profit – and keep more of it.
  • in giving you the information and advice you need to make smart decisions with your finances.
  • in making it easy for you to focus on what's most important to you.

Our Team

Joseph Bearden, CPA, EA

Joseph@beardenstroup.com

When Joseph Bearden started his public accounting career he had the privilege of working for and being mentored by Bryan Mason. Joseph now serves as President of Bearden, Stroup & Associates. He has earned degrees in Accounting and Violin Performance. He was presented with the Faculty Academic Award from Pensacola Christian College where he graduated at the top of his class.

Joseph finds satisfaction in using his technical skills to meet the needs of clients. He says, “I love when clients walk out of my office with a feeling of relief knowing their tax burden is lighter, and they can stay out of trouble with the IRS.”

Joseph enjoys using his talents on the violin, viola, piano, and organ. He frequently appears as a guest musician at weddings and other events. He lives with his family in Toney, Alabama.

Areas of emphasis include:

  • Corporate tax planning and tax return preparation
  • Tax exempt organizations
  • Personal tax planning and tax return preparation
  • Outsourced bookkeeping
  • Estate tax planning and return preparation
  • Bookkeeping cleanup

Elizabeth Stroup, CPA, EA

Elizabeth@beardenstroup.com

Elizabeth Stroup serves as Managing Partner at Bearden, Stroup & Associates, CPAs. She graduated Summa Cum Laude with a B.S. degree in Accounting from Pensacola Christian College, and started her career in public accounting. In 2005, she received the prestigious Elijah Watts Sells award in recognition of achieving one of the top 10 CPA exam scores nationwide.

Elizabeth manages many of the day-to-day aspects of the business. She says, “I love working in a place where people who come in feel welcomed and valued.”

Elizabeth lives in Huntsville with her husband Ben. She serves on her church’s finance committee and tech team. She has been involved as a coach at the Women's Business Center of North Alabama and as a mentor at Christian Women’s Job Corps. In her spare time, she enjoys collecting and playing board games.

Areas of emphasis include:

  • Small business consulting
  • Personal tax planning and tax return preparation
  • Corporate tax planning and tax return preparation
  • Payroll set up
  • IRS representation
  • Budgeting, projections, and planning


Timothy Denney (Extension 17)


Individual taxation;
Business taxation and Bookkeeping

Tim@beardenstroup.com


Kevin Diehl, CPA (Extension 18)


Individual taxation;
Business taxation and QuickBooks ProAdvisor

Kevin@beardenstroup.com


Sandra Campbell, EA (Extension 19)


Individual taxation;
Business financial management

Sandra@beardenstroup.com


Richard Hoffman, EA (Extension 20)


IRS representation; QuickBooks ProAdvisor;
Business and Not-for-profit taxation

Richard@beardenstroup.com


Melissa Isbell (Extension 21)


Business and Individual taxation;
Bookkeeping

Melissa@beardenstroup.com


John Michael Lewis (Extension 23)


Business and Individual taxation;
Bookkeeping; Tax planning

JohnMichael@beardenstroup.com


Heather Clark (Extension 11)


Receptionist


Heather@beardenstroup.com


Stephanie Anderson (Extension 27)


Business taxation; Bookkeeping;
Business financial management

Stephanie@beardenstroup.com


Ashley Harper (Extension 26)


Business taxation; QuickBooks


Ashley@beardenstroup.com


Amanda Moore (Extension 24)


Payroll;
Sales tax preparation

Amanda@beardenstroup.com


Izzy Heeger (Extension 25)


Payroll;
Administration

Izzy@beardenstroup.com


Grace Walker (Extension 12)


Business financial management;
Administration

Grace@beardenstroup.com


Jaime Hedden (Extension 28)


Bookkeeping; Administration

Jaime@beardenstroup.com

Our Story

Bearden, Stroup & Associates, CPAs is a Huntsville, Alabama based accounting firm with over 15 team members. We offer a wide range of accounting services to small business clients and individuals across the Tennessee Valley. Our greatest asset is our ability to build deep, mutually beneficial relationships with our clients and to value each person we serve. We know that our clients count on us to listen, to ask questions, and to work together with them to achieve their financial goals.

From the time Joseph Bearden and Elizabeth Stroup met over 15 years ago, they shared a vision to deliver excellence to every client. Starting in 2007, Joseph and Elizabeth established their accounting practice in partnership with Bryan Mason under the name Mason, Bearden & Diehl. Bryan’s legacy inspires us with the passion that we must never let the pressures of meeting deadlines cause us to lose focus on the person we are helping. Over the course of ten years, the firm has grown from 4 to 15 team members. Today, the same customer-focused team operates as Bearden, Stroup & Associates, CPAs. We continue to grow by adding new talent and investing in new resources for our team.

The phrase Working Together defines our team’s focus. It’s more than our tagline. It's exactly how we do business every day.